Bob Carlton to Receive 2015 Bill Barber Award for Showmanship

EAST TROY, WISCONSIN -- An ICAS member and recipient of the 2014 Civilian Performer Pinnacle Award will receive one of the air show industry's highest honors July 21, during EAA AirVenture at EAA's Theater in the Woods.

Bob Carlton, owner of Vertigo Airshows, will receive the 2015 Bill Barber Award for Showmanship according to a news release issued by World Airshow News June 8. Carlton joins a long list of honorees that reads like an air show hall of fame.

Carlton began his fascination with aviation as a young boy flying control line models. He learned to fly in 1979 at age 19 and soon mastered hang gliders, sailplanes, powered airplanes, and helicopters. He began flying sailplane airshows in 1993.

After he began flying airshows, Carlton often found it difficult to arrange for a tow plane at each show site. His engineering background led to the development of the world's first twinjet sailplane, which allowed him to climb to altitude under his own power.

His innovative approach to glider aerobatics continued with the addition of the Super Salto jet sailplane in 2009. With a more powerful jet engine, the Super Salto not only allowed Carlton to climb to altitude without a tow plane, but he could also perform a full low-level aerobatic routine under power.

Carlton's latest addition to his airshow stable is the SubSonex JSX-2 microjet kit aircraft. He serves as the chief test pilot for the little jet and has debuted a full aerobatic airshow routine in the SubSonex for the 2015 airshow season.



Bob Carlton's Super Salto Jet Sailplane

Carlton lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico, with his wife Laurie and their dog, Ginger. He is a member of the Soaring Society of America and the International Council of Air Shows. He is also a retired rocket scientist for a major national laboratory.

The Bill Barber Award for Showmanship began in 1986, and is awarded to air show performers or teams that have demonstrated great skill and showmanship. World Airshow News magazine and the friends and family of the late Bill Barber present the award annually.

Past Bill Barber Award winners include:

2014 Greg Koontz	1999 Dan Buchanan
2013 Skip Stewart	1998 Patty Wagstaff
2012 Matt Younkin	1997 Gene Soucy & Teresa Stokes
2011 Rich and Dee Gibson	1996 Wayne Handley
2010 Steve Oliver and Suzanne Asbury-Oliver	1995 Bob Hoover
2009 Michael Goulian	1994 Bob & Annette Hosking
2008 Bud Granley	1993 Red Baron Stearman Squadron
2007 Dacy Family Airshow Team	1992 Sean D. Tucker
2006 Danny Clisham	1991 Julie Clark
2005 Pietsch Airshows	1990 Leo Loudenslager
2004 Bobby Younkin	1989 Jimmy Franklin
2003 Jim LeRoy	1988 No Award
2002 AeroShell Aerobatic Team	1987 The French Connection
2001 Northern Lights Aerobatic Team	1986 Eagles Aerobatic Flight Team
2000 John Mohr	-